running

Why I Run

Despite the fact where you can lace up your sneakers and run a few laps around a nearby park, running is complex. People I know will never understand what it’s like to be excited over running a distance run. People I know will never understand the victory of medaling or just simply PRing to run a race – or even know what a PR is.  People don’t understand that running isn’t just for charity but the motivation to run 13.1, 6.2 or 3.1 took a serious breech of willingness and stamina which are two traits which will them in their everyday life. Most of my close friends to parents don’t understand. Non-runners will never understand the joy in the run.

I was never a runner in high school or couldn’t see why I had to or even run five miles. I wasn’t built for it. I was skinny allover and even just running a mile or two made me sore and weep to come home to my after school specials because I displayed no muscle mass. When I told an old high school aquaintance on Facebook that I was running a 5k, they were shocked because they haven’t seen me since high school.

After high school, I picked up reading a lot and read about some of the benefits of running: it wasn’t only great cardio but it improved stamina and could possibly improve learning and memory. It felt like a second chance of life for me. So, I gave it a try on my home course – a mixture of flat, fast and hills and even though it wasn’t consistent, I just wanted to do it again until I’ve started to run races not to get in touch with my competitive side but to give back to community.

In the words of Forrest Gump!

 It’s nice to do something I love and to be able to give back to my community as well – such as the breast cancer awareness ta-ta trot which helped raises money so there can be more breast cancer survivors. Or Girls on the Run, establishing well-rounded education for young girls on real issues through running.

There’s a motive behind every charity just as there’s a motive and a story behind every runner. What’s truly commendable is someone who can lace up and run for themselves or someone else – especially for someone else who cannot. I may say I’ll only want to run for a few more years yet but I would like to thank myself because running is a good foundation to building strength and stamina for other sports and excelling in the working world. Behind every runner is great charisma and pride and I want to keep the spirit alive.

And it feels really nice to receive some sort of acknowledgement for my efforts sometimes too.

Oh, this weekend’s run?

6.1 miles, easy “detox” run.  

Although I didn’t manage to run on Friday, Saturday’s run left me content. I never ran so far in my life let alone would consider it easy….but then again it was a recovery run.   Honestly, I felt a bit nauseous afterwards but I would do it again. It felt like a detox.

I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s some people out there that feel they don’t have to log their runs – they just train and can pick up and run a half or a marathon straight. In fact, they have numerous marathons under their belt because a rigorous past from being in the military or just a drive to succeed has pushed them to always be the best and do good… and that’s commendable. I envy people like that in a way. But you’re also forgetting that often times, a race (from Boston to your hometown 5k) is composed of average civilians just like you who are fueled by the same willingness, ambition and desire to run that builds stamina for someone else, just the charity if not just because they can join other like-minded people to share in a collective hobby, a competitive sport and the joy of being able to give back to our community by doing what they love even if their day job leaves little or nothing to be desired.

I would like to run one more 5k this Fall – but we’ll see. This month, I am starting to train for my first 10k – 6.2 miles. Really planning to take things one day at a time to see how things go. Get my pace down to under 10:00mins consistently and work down to 8 – that’s my comfort zone. According to my online 10k workout schedule, I won’t be ready until earlier next year. We’ll see how I feel then.  Run for the feeling – run how you feel. Not a Nike ad, I swear. 😉

Why do you run? Do you compete in races?  If you could compete in a race, what’s your racing goal? How long could you see yourself running?

Leave a Reply

